MANCMADE /// ACTS OF HOPE is the amazing new album released 24th April, with 100% of proceeds going to the MancSpirit Charity in support of their Creative Change Homeless Project.


hair envy advert

Created & curated by Ben Guy from the band Narcissus and brought to life by Manchester’s newest record label, 42’s Records, the 18 track contains contributions from legends Johnny Marr & Maxine Peake, Peter Hook (MANRAy), Gaz Whelan, Rowetta, Brix Smith, Mark Radcliffe and a host of up and coming Manchester based talent.

Having made a donation following an online appeal, Guy wanted to do more to help so came up with the idea to compile a fundraising album of tracks donated by some of the great and the good of Manchester’s music scene.

Brimming with individual native and adopted Manc talent, the album comes packaged in beautifully fitting artwork, designed by the 19th artist, local designer and photographer, Paul Evans AKA,, referencing classic Mancunian imagery and reshaping it into an iconic package which unites the contents.

100% of sales proceeds from all CD’s downloads and merchandise will go straight to MancSpirit—Greater Manchester’s Mental Wellbeing Charity—to support their ‘Creative Change’ project. Damian Carr, Co-founder, MancSpirit, “Everything we do is aimed at improving mental wellbeing by creating social connections, providing entertainment and offering people the opportunity to join in, make friends and have fun”

“Our ‘Creative Change’ project started with us visiting people struggling with homelessness on the streets, in hostels and day centres, to listen to their needs for creative activity. We create & facilitate that creative activity to help their mental wellbeing, help them re-engage with the amazing support services out there and, hopefully, help them off the streets and into their own home. We value those people and organisations that share our vision of caring for others, helping those that help others, getting stuck in and getting things done. When Ben and 42’s Records offered to support our ‘Creative Change’ project it was exactly what we were about. Greater Manchester’s musicians, artists, writers & designers – Our Creative Community – stepping up, getting involved and taking positive action.”

OUR CITY— the “theme tune” and closing track, summing up the spirit of the project is the evocative Dave Viney & narcissus collaboration “Our City”

Artists and tracks:

  1. Show Me The Truth – Gaz Whelan and. Rowetta feat. Suga Mike
  2. Neighbours – ARGH KiD
  3. Exist – IST IST
  4. Camden – Jess Kemp
  5. Oxford Street – Narrow Margin
  6. No-one Talks – Jake Fletcher
  7. The Priest – Johnny Marr and Maxine Peake
  8. Itksuarpok (UNE remix) – UNE (Mark Radcliffe and Paul Langley)
  9. When I Arrived It Was Raining – Diving Station
  10. Piano Sylogtr7 – Rebelski
  11. Sleep – Déjà Vega
  12. Wanderlust – James Holt
  13. Never Wanted This – LIINES
  14. 302: Come The Revolution-Thieves Will Die! – MANRAy (Ft. Peter Hook)
  15. Wolves – Brix & The Extricated
  16. Car Crash (Kerbside mix) – Factory Acts
  17. Give Me Some Space – Space Monkeys
  18. Our City – Dave Viney & narcissus


Artwork & Sleeve Design by

Paul Evans / Painted Papillon Smile


For more info:



42’s Records